Off Walls Off Pedestals

What I Am Doing Now (Selected Film Objects Becoming Visiting Film Objects)

Posted in Wayang U-Wei by tsabri on February 4, 2010

30th December 2009. Nishino came with the Tanah Licin (U-Wei’s production house) boys to deliver me the film objects that U-Wei had selected.

Unloading the Film Objects

The film objects selected for me are; three cinema seats with some broken parts, an old editing machine, a broken some kind of projector or camera, five cans of ‘Buai Laju-Laju’ filmstrips, a ‘Kaki Bakar’ poster glued onto a board that has already twisted and two rolls of his previous films’ posters. The film objects brought over to me are not found objects. U-Wei didn’t found them: he instead chose them from his experience as a filmmaker. The film objects are familiar to him, but not to me. I, however, didn’t found the film objects: the film objects are brought to me. They came visiting me as selected film objects. I arranged them in my workshop. They are not my found objects. The films objects found me instead!

The three cinema seats with some broken parts found me:
“These are the First Class seats.”
“Yes? Really? Are you sure? Not from the Royal Circle?”
“No. The Royal Circle’s are much more smooth, softer.”
“We’ll bring these home… they are suitable for a swing.”
“Hmm… a swing under the big tree.”

The old editing machine found me:
“What you think this is?”
“The wood is hard. Good for a carving….”
“See… it has a rolling handle. Its here I think they place the filmstrip.”
“This wood… I can carve out a small column.”

The broken some kind of projector or camera found me:
“There are mirrors. There is some kind of a lens here”
“It’s strongly built.”
“It’s broken.”

The five cans of ‘Buai Laju-Laju’ filmstrips found me:
“I saw Goddard in a photograph with round cans like this.”
“Who? Somebody I know? These cans are beautiful, they are round.”
“What’s this? Hmm… What can we do with these filmstrips?”
“You can weave them into some sort of a costume.”
“And we will ask U-Wei to wear it during his exhibition’s reception…”

The ‘Kaki Bakar’ poster glued onto a board that has already twisted found me:
“Stern. His face is very stern.”
“If this is Bollywood, I believe he will be good in the singing and dancing.”

The two rolls of his previous films’ posters found me:
“Look at these. Look at these papers…”
“They are posters…”
“Poster?”
“Poster, yes. Look at the actor and actress.”
“Posters, they are not… poster are meant to be displayed!

Kaki Bakar Poster & Cans of Buai Laju-Laju in My Study

A Broken Some Kind of Projector or Camera

The selected film objects and I began to know each other better.

Leave a Reply

